Hospice and Palliative Care: A Good Goodbye 12.18.13

What People Don’t Know About Hospice Can Kill Them

Changing the Way We Die coverMention the word “hospice” and many people think it means a patient is “giving up the fight.” It’s actually all about making the most of the time a seriously-ill patient has, leading to a better quality, and sometimes a greater quantity, of life.

Hospice and palliative care are the topic on A Good Goodbye Radio Wednesday, December 18 at 6:00 p.m. ET/3:00 p.m. PT on The RockStar Radio Network. Three special guests will talk about what hospice is (and isn’t); why it’s beneficial to the family as well as the patient; who can access these services; and how hospice and palliative care have changed since these services first appeared in the 1970s.

The guest in the first half hour is Anita Brikman, Senior Vice President for Strategic Communications at NHPCO, the National Hospice and Palliative Care Organization. Her personal commitment to raising public awareness of hospice and palliative care stems from her own life-changing experiences. Her father’s death due to colon cancer in 1998 marked her family’s first encounter with hospice.

In the second half of the program, the guests are Fran Smith and Sheila Himmel, co-authors of the new book, Changing the Way We Die: Compassionate End-of-Life Care and the Hospice Movement. They both encountered good deaths and bad deaths in their families, which spurred them to turn their journalistic talents to the topic of hospice. Together, they write the Psychology Today blog, Changing The Way We Die.

Listeners are invited to call in with their questions and stories during the second half of the program. The toll-free number is 866-404-6519.

Upcoming programs feature The Conversation Project with Martha Hayward (Dec. 25 – rebroadcast of an earlier show); Estate planning issues with attorney Jim Plitz (Jan. 1 – a rebroadcast to help start your New Year’s resolution to get your affairs in order); Allison Copening with Seasons Funeral Planning Services (Jan. 4); Pet hospice with Kathryn Marocchino, Ph.D., FT (Jan. 22); and the Frozen Dead Guy Days festival with Amanda MacDonald (Jan. 29).

A Good Goodbye is an entertaining and educational weekly 60-minute online radio show on “everything you need to know before you go.”  The program airs live on Wednesdays at 6:00 p.m. ET / 5:00 p.m. CT / 4:00 p.m. MT / 3:00 p.m. PT on RockStarRadioNetwork.com.

Each show becomes available as a podcast shortly after each live program. All past program podcasts on A Good Goodbye Radio can be downloaded for free from iTunes, the RockStar Radio Network or AGoodGoodbye.com.

Return to the A Good Goodbye Show Page
Link to Article


Recent Shows
Title Date
A Will for the Woods: A Good Goodbye 4.16.14
04-16-2014
Humor and Adversity: A Good Goodbye 4.2.14
04-02-2014
The Soul Sitter's Handbook: A Good Goodbye 4.9.14
03-27-2014
Funeral Industry Trends: A Good Goodbye 3.26.14
03-26-2014
Comparing UK and US Funerals: A Good Goodbye 3.20.14
03-20-2014
View All Podcasts
Subscribe to Podcast feed
Connect with Me


     

A Good Goodbye